Cisco Certified Network Associate

Programme Overview

Although the CCNA courses form part of VTDI’s proposed Applied ICT degree programme, as a unit they are referred to as the Cisco Networking Academy Program. The Cisco Networking Academy Program is a comprehensive e-learning program, which provides students with the Internet technology skills essential in a global economy. It delivers web-based content, online assessment, student performance tracking, support, and preparation for industry-standard certifications. It provides Internet technology skills for designing, building and maintaining networks. Launched in 1997, there are over 10.000 networking academies in 149 countries. The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is a cornerstone of the Network Academy curriculum.

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA), is the first step in a Cisco career certification path. Particular emphasis is given to using decision-making and problem-solving techniques in the application of science, mathematics, communication and social studies concepts to solve networking problems. Students will learn how to install and configure Cisco switches and routers in multiprotocol networks using local- and wide-area networks (LANs and WANs), provide troubleshooting service, and improve network performance and security. Additionally, instruction and training are provided in the proper care, maintenance, and use of networking software tools and equipment.

CCNA Curriculum

The CCNA curriculum has four (4) main parts, which, for the purpose of this degree programme, form four distinct courses. They are :-

-CCNA I: Networking Basics
-CCNA II: Routers and Routing Basics
-CCNA III: Switching Basics and Intermediate Routing
-CCNA IV: WAN Technologies

This curriculum is periodically reviewed and updated by Cisco, and instructors are kept abreast of the changes and updates through Cisco’s annual conferences. To continue to be eligible to deliver the curriculum, it is mandatory that the CCNA instructors demonstrate an understanding of the concepts/skills introduced in any newly added content (i.e. they are assessed).

Upon the successful completion of all four (4) courses, students are now prepared to sit the professional exams that lead to the internationally recognized CCNA certification. Please note that this is optional, not mandatory. These exams are offered externally*, and there are two options that students have:-

1. Students may opt to sit two professional exams – one after successfully completing CCNA II, and the other after successfully completing CCNA IV. (N.B. Both exams must be passed in order to be CCNA certified).

2. Another option is to take one comprehensive professional exam after completing CCNA IV.


-Network Engineer

-Sr. Network Engineer

-Network Administrator

-Information Technology (IT) Manager

-Information Technology (IT) Director

-Systems Administrator

-Systems Engineer (Computer Networking / IT)